Our Partners
During the past five years, K-Net has worked with its partners to produce impressive results. In partnership with the Community Access Program, FedNor, HRDC, the Northern Ontario Heritage Fund, Bell Canada and NAN First Nations, Kuh-ke-nah has built new capacity for development in remote communities. Their staff have engaged far flung communities in telecommunications development and have effectively introduced formative and positive changes in the regional ICT environment. Some of the milestones achieved in this process are outlined below:
  • 1994 Keewaytinook Okimakanak's Education Department launches a BBS;
  • 1995 The K-Net BBS is expanded to all First Nations in the Sioux Lookout District
  • 1996 Keewaytinook Okimakanak becomes Industry Canada's First Nation Schoolnet Helpdesk serving Northern Ontario; CAP sites are established in ten district First Nations
  • 1997 K-Net develops hybrid MSAT/DirecPC system for remote First Nations internet access; regional on-line training programs for local Computer Technicians established
  • 1998 K-Net assumes leadership role in the NAN-wide Telecommunications Infrastructure Working Group; K-Net initiates infrastructure process with regional carriers
  • 1999 K-Net leads regional participation in the CRTC High Cost Serving Area process; application to Industry Canada SMART program entered into second phase for business plan development
  • 2000 North of Red Lake digital Infrastructure Project complete; Keewaytinook Internet High School is launched; North Spirit Lake and Keewaywin telephone service established; video conferencing and high speed data connection established
  • 2001 Kuh-ke-nah SMART First Nations is launched; North of Pickle Lake digital Infrastructure Project complete, KOHS-NORTH (Telehealth) Network is launched.
We would like to give recognition to all the partners, funders, and contributors that have supported Keewaytinook Okimakanak. Below is a list of all of those groups. Click on their name to see what they have contributed.
Keewaytinook Okimakanak
Poplar Hill First Nation
Fort Severn First Nation

McDowell Lake First Nation
Keewaywin First Nation
North Spirit Lake First Nation
Sioux Lookout Area Aboriginal Management Board
Northern Ontario Heritage Fund
Ministry of Education, Training, Colleges, and Universities
Office of Learning Technologies
Nishnawbe-Aski Development Fund
Wawatay Communications Society
Ontario First Nations Technical Services Corperation
807 Northwest Network
Assembly of First Nations
Nishnawbe Aski Nation
The Federal Economic Development Initiative in Northern Ontario
Bell Canada
Indian and Northern Affairs Canada
Telesat Canada
Cisco Systems
Government Telecommunications and Informatics Services
TeleCommons Development Group
Lakehead University
Shibogama First Nations Council
Oshki-Pimache-O-Win Education Institute
Windigo First Nations Council
Community Access Program
Smart Communities
School Net
Chiefs of Ontario
Office of Learning Technologies